ITjes en datjes

Dingen uit dagelijks IT werk

No more social jetlag

Social jetlag, the difference between the socially expected sleeping pattern and your true natural pattern is plain bad for your health. In my case, it feels destructive to mine with constant tiredness, bad short term memory and depressive tendencies.
Although they call it a disorder, I believe it’s a natural state since not every living creature is identical to others, and there is no proven definition of a human’s sleeping pattern (sleeping in two parts seemed common in medieval times).

So, after 17 years of working in IT I’m going to choose my health and happiness over social norms before it kills me.
I’m quitting and I’m not going to start my day before noon (emergencies excepted of course) anymore.

Back to creative and productive evenings for me.

Written by mnystrom

2015/12/30 bij 12:57

Geplaatst in EN

